Already a member? Click here to log in Click here to login
become a member join today, it's free

Franklin Sonn

Franklin Abraham Sonn

Non-Executive Director of Esorfrani Limited

Born 11-10-1939 in Vosburg South Africa

Franklin Sonn is an Independent Non-Executive Director of Esorfrani Limited. He is currently the President of the Afrikaanse Handelsinstituut. Sonn previously served as the Ambassador to the United States of America for the South African Government and as a Chancellor for the University of the Free State.

Professional Portfolios

View all portfolios→

Public Address by his Excellency Franklin Sonn Amb...

in Public Speeches

Dan Sanders Memorial Lecture 11th International Sy...

in Written work

Professional details

Current Position(s)

Independent Non-Executive Director | STEINHOFF INTERNATIONAL HOLDINGS N.V.
2002 - present

Manufacturing and Industrial

Non-Executive Director | RGA Reinsurance Company of South Africa

Board Member | Personal Bank Division | BARCLAYS AFRICA GROUP LTD

Accounting, Banking and Finance

Non-Executive Director | Esor Franki Limited

Previous Position(s)

Chairman | Airports Company South Africa
South Africa | 2005 - 2006

Transportation and Logistics

Non-Executive Director | Airports Company South Africa
2000 - 2005

Transportation and Logistics

Director | SAPPI LTD
1999 - 2009

Manufacturing and Industrial

Ambassador | Government of South Africa
Washington, South Africa | 1995 - 1999

Government, Public Administration and Defence

Non-Executive Director | MTN GROUP LTD

ICT and Telecommunications

Educational history


California School of Professional Psychology

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters

University of Notre Dame

Honorary Doctor of Laws

College of Baruch

Awarded in 1995

Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters

Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Awarded in 2002

Honorary Technical Doctorate

University of Nebraska

Honorary Bachelor of Education



The Order of the Baobab in Silver

Awarded for his excellent contribution to education and the course of justice in South Africa.

International Award in Honour of Doctor Martin Luther King Junior

Special Merit Award | Association of Tech Principals

Paul Harris Award for Exceptional Service | Rotary

Chancellor's Medal of Honour | Tech Pretoria

Doctor Humanities | Howard University



Imalivest Proprietary Limited


Institute of Administration and Communication



WWF South Africa


Desmond Tutu Peace Trust


Nelson Mandela Children's Fund


Nelson Mandela Foundation


Impumelelo Innovations Awards Trust


Afrikaanse Handelsinstituut

Pres, 2002 - present

Foundation for Community Work


Legal Resources Trust


Outward Bound Trust South Africa


Worldwide Fund for Nature South Africa


You need to be registered and signed in to network with this member.

Sign InRegister

Join Now